The 2016 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship is coming up, and baseball fans have been on the edge of their seats wondering who the participating teams will be. These 64 teams were announced on Monday May 30th at the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee. The anticipation to find out which teams are in the field has shifted to an anticipation to see how these teams stack up against one another. The 64 teams include a lot of expected teams who have been in the field for a number of years, as well as some newcomers. The national top eight seeds are an impressive collection of teams: Florida (47-13), Louisville (47-12), Miami Florida (45-11), Texas A&M (45-14), Texas Tech (41-16), Mississippi State (41-16-1), Clemson (42-18), and LSU (42-18). 

Gianni DiMeglio

The 64 Teams in this year’s NCAA Division I Baseball Championships have been announced.

The Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) has 10 teams in the championship field this year, a number that sets a conference record and ties the all-time mark. Conference USA and the Pacific-12 (Pac-12) each have four institutions in the field, while the American Athletic Conference, Big West, Big 12, and Big Ten each have three teams in the field. The conferences that have two institutions in the field are Colonial, Southland, Sun Belt and West Coast.

Of the 64 teams that were selected this year, 25 of them were in the field last year. This leaves space for some unexpected teams that may prove to be successful. Some of the teams that were selected for the first time are Alabama State of the Southwest Athletic Conference, St. Mary’s (California) of the West Coast Conference, Fairfield of the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, and Utah Valley of the Western Athletic Conference.

Miami (Florida) has extended its own record, now in the field for its 44th consecutive year. Florida State is not far behind the record, making its 39th appearance in a row. Other long consecutive streaks include Cal State Fullerton (25 years) and Rice (22 years).

The 16 regionals will be played in a double-elimination format, with four teams playing in each regional. The regionals will occur from Friday, June 3, to Monday, June 6 (if necessary). The eight upper regional hosts will be announced on Monday June 6th at around 11pm. It’s anyone’s guess who will make it to the world series, but the teams that hold records sure do look promising. To predict the bracket, check out the NCAA’s interactive bracket.

When the Championship is over, baseball fans will be on the edges of their seats for the world series. The 70th Men’s College World Series starts on Saturday June 18th in Omaha, Nebraska at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha.